Upward Bound

Upward Bound Math/Science (UBMS) provide services to selected high school students who are potential first-generation college students and who meet specific family income criteria. UBMS works to help the selected high school students recognize and develop their potential to excel in fields related to Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM). Concentrated services are provided on the Poteau campus in a six week summer program and are followed by a an academic year program. The goal of the program is to help students graduate high school, enroll in postsecondary school and complete an education with a degree in math, science or information technology.

Upward Bound provide services to selected high school students who are potential first-generation college students and who meet specific family income guidelines. Concentrated academic services are provided on both Poteau and Sallisaw campuses for six weeks each summer with periodic follow-up services provided throughout the academic year. Personal enrichment activities such as cultural events and individual tutorial services are also provided giving students a jump start to get them through high school and into postsecondary school.

The Upward Bound and UB Math/Science Programs at Carl Albert State College are funded 100% by grants from the US Department of Education in the amounts of $417,936 (Upward Bound South) and $308,858 (UB Math Science); and $248,771 (Upward Bound North) per year.
Number of participants served per year of funding: 105 (Upward Bound South);  74 (UB Math Science); 63 (Upward Bound North).

December Meeting Evaluation

Upward Bound South (Poteau)
Eligible Schools:  Bokoshe, Cameron, Heavener, Howe, LeFlore, Panama, Pocola, Poteau, Spiro and Wister

Melinda Pierce
Upward Bound Coordinator
Business Center – BC 805A
918.647.1384
mbpierce@carlalbert.edu

Shara Olive
At Rick Advisor
Business Center – BC 805D
918.647.1334
solive@carlalbert.edu

Heather Baldwin
Activities Advisor
Business Center – BC 805B
918.647.1380
hbaldwin@carlabert.edu

Marsha Caughern
Academic Adviser
Business Center – BC 805C
918.647.1382
mcaughern@carlalbert.edu

Heather Henson
Secretary, UB and UBMS
Business Center – BC 804
918.647.1381
hhenson@carlalbert.edu

Upward Bound Math Science
Eligible Schools:  Panama, Panola, Pocola, Poteau, Spiro & Wister

Kandace Handy
Upward Bound Math Science Coordinator
Business Center – BC 804D
918.647.1386
kmhandy@carlalbert.edu

Tara Foos
Academic Advisor
Business Center – BC 804A
918.647.1334
tpierce@carlalbert.edu

Heather Henson
Secretary, UB and UBMS
Business Center – BC 804
918.647.1381
hhenson@carlalbert.edu

Upward Bound North (Sallisaw) upwardboundnorth.sallisaw.1@facebook.com

Jaime Henson
Upward Bound Coordinator
918.776.2217
jhenson@carlalbert.edu

Caylyn Bair
918.775.2216
cbair@carlalbert.edu
Student Financial Aid:  FAFSA
Oklahoma’s Promise (OHLAP):

Top